PowWeb Forums - The Perfect Community for the Perfect Host  

Register now to interact with over 11,000 members! Registered users have Posting Privileges, free access to Private Messaging, Email Notifications and more.

Go Back   PowWeb Community Forums > The PowWeb Platform > PHP
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 1-10-17, 11:08 PM   #1
suncoast
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: tampa, fl
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0
PHP wont run in some directories

Hi,

PHP won't run in some of my directories. I put in a "test.php" file, I get an internal server error message. I rename the file to "test.html" and it works fine (I used only html for testing purposes).

It works in my /htdocs/ directory and one directory above. Other than that it doesnt work.

not sure if it is an issue with .htaccess or php.ini or what.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
suncoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-10-17, 11:10 PM   #2
suncoast
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: tampa, fl
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0
Seems like it won't run any deeper than 2 subdirectories in. After 3 directories in it seems to stop working?
suncoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-10-17, 11:12 PM   #3
snowmaker
target='_blank'
 
snowmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Not in Solomons anymore.
Posts: 3,433
Reputation: 326
It should only work properly in htdocs or subdirs below (within) that, it shouldn't work at all in a directory above or at the same level as htdocs. What is the content of the file? I'll create a similar file and test it myself.
__________________
-bruce /* somdcomputerguy */
'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'

Last edited by snowmaker; 1-10-17 at 11:28 PM.. Reason: added 'same level as'
snowmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-10-17, 11:25 PM   #4
snowmaker
target='_blank'
 
snowmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Not in Solomons anymore.
Posts: 3,433
Reputation: 326
I've just created a PHP file with only one echo command. The file is 5 subdirs below htdocs.

See it here - http://somdcomputerguy.com/subdir1/s...bdir5/test.php

The file itself looks like this, and has a 644 permission level.
PHP Code:
<?
  
echo "I am working!";
?>
__________________
-bruce /* somdcomputerguy */
'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'
snowmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-11-17, 12:27 AM   #5
suncoast
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: tampa, fl
Posts: 11
Reputation: 0
Weird. I renamed the folder and it is working now.

I think something got messed up when I "renamed" the folder from uppercase to lowercase.

I'll leave it at the new name for now.

Thanks!
suncoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-11-17, 12:28 AM   #6
snowmaker
target='_blank'
 
snowmaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Not in Solomons anymore.
Posts: 3,433
Reputation: 326
You bet bud. Glad you got it working.
__________________
-bruce /* somdcomputerguy */
'If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.'
snowmaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-11-17, 05:13 AM   #7
omegaman66
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 611
Reputation: 85
If I remember correctly, php is case sensitive with file names but html is not. I try to always use lower-case names for all php files and pictures.
omegaman66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Contents ©PowWeb, Inc. ~ vBulletin, Copyright 2000-2007 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.