PowWeb Forums - The Perfect Community for the Perfect Host  

Register now to interact with over 11,000 members! Registered users have Posting Privileges, free access to Private Messaging, Email Notifications and more.

Go Back   PowWeb Community Forums > Web Site Design > Content Management Systems > Blogs
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 2-12-17, 05:14 PM   #1
CWme
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Oakland
Posts: 1
Reputation: 0
how to install Wordpress into a current website + questions on subdomains

Hello -

I'm trying to get a new WP site going, but remember reading in the past that it is best to install it into a subdomain if you have a website already running on the same hosting account.

Something like creating a CNAME record of newwebsite.domain.com

My questions are: So I need to set up the CNAME record here at PW, but what if anything do I have to do at the registrar, or is it the other way around? Then I know I have to wait until the sub-domain is created (or whatever the word is)....before I go on.

Once the browser finds the new sub-domain I can then go into the tools for installing WP here at powweb and install it - into where? Do I create a DIR for this subdomain?

Also, once done - can I some how make it so just typing in the domain name will take you to the sub-domain - sounds like a pointer... none of these things have I attempted before so I'm very interested in best practices so this goes off without a hitch.

Thank you for your wisdom on this matter ~
CWme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-14-17, 08:27 PM   #2
rainbore
Rick
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,752
Reputation: 280
There's no particular need to install Wordpress in a subdomain. It works perfectly well in a subdirectory.
Just follow the instructions from Wordpress.
__________________
Rick Trethewey
rainbore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2-17-17, 08:45 PM   #3
Croc Hunter
Mod.. with bite..
 
Croc Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,327
Reputation: 449
Sounds like you want to replace your existing website with a wordpress based one? Depending on what your existing website is eg; index.html, you can install wordpress directly into htdocs. Then when you are ready in OPS simply make index.php your preferred homepage file.
__________________
Croc Hunter MSC :
Croc Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wordpress cname

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Contents ©PowWeb, Inc. ~ vBulletin, Copyright 2000-2007 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.